top of page

Blog

Do you actually need a cleanse? Part 3 Liver cleanse

Do you actually need a cleanse? Part 3 Liver cleanse




Liver cleanse. Woowoo cleanse for most of people. It was for me. Until I started experimenting with it and noticed drastic changes on my skin, in my energy levels, recovery, weight loss, digestion.


I did a liver flush because I felt very desperate due to my excessive sweating issue. I couldn't achieve anything spectacular but let's go back to my liver toxicity history.


Things that can mess up your liver: margarine and other trans fats, alcohol, too much dairy and meat, some medicines, etc...


My two main things were margarine and alcohol. I was eating margarine since I was a little kid. I LOVED it. I loved it too much. We always put it as a starter for our sandwiches and we weren't aware of the side effects until my little brother, who is 7 years younger than me, started experiencing liver pain when he was 6 years old. You've read it right. He was 6. And we didn't know how to deal with the situation.


My Mom took him to doctors, they prescribed special diets but they had no clue what his problem was. I mean liver pain can be a pretty serious issue, especially at such a young age. Nothing helped until we met a naturopath who told us to skip margarine. Completely. And to use sour cream and other natural spreads on our bread. The magic happened. Aron was pain-free. This event shaped my life and helped me to pay attention to certain factors in health.


I was still using margarine and I didn't experience any pain but I was using it less often. Then in high school, I drank like crazy for 2 years. When I started university, I went vegetarian and then vegan. I skipped marg for a few years and I was like: OK, it's vegan, let's have margarine. I started experiencing liver pain every time I ate. Probably as I was eating healthier my body got more sensitive to unhealthy stuff and my liver wasn't in the best condition.


Back to the liver flush, I started drinking beet juice because I heard it helped to cleanse the liver. For me, the detox symptoms were crazy. At the beginning, I got diarrhea, I sweat and peed pink. I got some liver pain as well. Pain, especially when you are taking the right stuff to cleanse, can be a part of the experience.


Think about it this way. If you have a thorn in your finger...it hurts when you have it in and it's also hurtful to remove it. With your liver, it's the same thing.


Okay, the liver flush didn't give me drastic results. It's better to focus on this organ on a regular basis.


Then I got acne and dove deep into the liver cleanse field. The moment, that convinced me about the importance of this topic was in spring 2017. I felt desperate about my skin and I started taking ground milk thistle seed. After 3 days, I felt much more energy, mental clarity, and better recovery.


I thought to myself: Now I see what health nuts are talking about!


I started taking a tablespoon of ground milk thistle seed multiple times a week and I felt better than ever.


Let's get a little more scientific. In terms of liver detox, there are 2 different types: phase I and phase II liver detoxification.


The phase I is a more common detox, and the phase II is a deep liver detoxification, it's actually getting rid of the toxins and neutralizing the toxins. The liver has these 2 processes to get rid of things but they don't usually work on their own.


There are certain foods, which can induce them. The most common liver cleansing foods usually trigger the phase I. Foods like beets, milk thistle, magnesium, iron, turmeric.


The phase II liver detox can be induced by glutathione, an internal antioxidant. To increase glutathione production, you need to consume more sulfur. That's one of the reasons I love to take an MSM supplement. MSM is methylsulfonylmethane, which is an organic sulfur molecule. It's also incredible for collagen production, therefore it makes your skin smoother, your joints stronger, and your body cleaner.


Another great way to trigger phase II liver detox is sulforaphane. Sulforaphane can be found in raw broccoli. If you would like to learn more about this, click here.

If you just want to know what to do without the science and you trust me, just eat raw broccoli, or blend raw broccoli then leave it sit for 40 minutes, or cook broccoli and when it's cooled down a little bit, add some ground mustard seeds.


B12 is also important to get rid of the toxins, as well as molybdenum.


How do I practice liver cleanse in my everyday life?


I like to take milk thistle seeds from every now and then. You can also get a supplement, many bodybuilders take it as a supplement because the liver plays a key role in protein synthesis as well. Milk thistle is said to be able heal damaged liver cells.


I often drink grapefruit juice or put grapefruit in my salads. Every time I have grapefruit I look more shredded and leaner next day, as well as I have improved mental clarity and more energy.


I like to eat broccoli with mustard seeds. Sulforaphane is a beast. My energy is skyrocketing after indulging some sulforaphane.


Beet + spinach juice. Or carrot + celery juice. Beets are incredible for your liver as well as celery juice. Or just eat more raw celery and beets.

Beets can go as an extra ingredients in your salads. Celery is great on avo toast.

I often like to buy superfood salad in the supermarket, which has beet leaves and shredded beetroot in it.


I drink turmeric lattes at least 2 times a week. Or even more. Every time I feel super sore.


Spanish black radish wasn't mentioned at the liver cleansing ingredients. It can dissolve gall stones, which actually come from the liver. That food is one of the BEST things you can do for your liver. Every time I eat it regularly, my skin goes amazing.


Oh, yes, thanks to God, my excessive sweating is no more there. But I will write another post about that because it's a complex topic.


I hope this was helpful for you!


Leave a comment, have you ever tried any type of liver cleanse?


Have a blessed day! <3





Comments


Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page