top of page

Blog

Should you actually get an air-fryer?


I got crazy and I've bought an air-fryer. I had been wanting to try it for years since I saw it in a video on YouTube. It sounded like a great idea. I'm all about healthy eating and healthier alternatives. I also LOVE fries. :D


Very much. I've already tried to make some fries in the oven but it always took a long time.


My expectations were:

1. Save time with it and getting fries at the same time :D

2. Trying out new recipes

3. Having fun with trying out new alternatives and methods

4. Making delicious food

5. Enjoy the crispiness without having to soak food in oil


The model I've bought is this:



The link for it is here.


It was discounted from 100 £, and I couldn't resist the temptation.


Recently, I've also seen another influencer using it and loving it.


But let's talk about my experience. I've been using it for a week.


Expectation No.1: Saving time


I have to say that this actually won't be true. It's quicker to cut the potatoes and toss it in the oven. For this particular machine, I had to cook the potatoes before air frying, then dry them, add 1/2 tsp of oil, and salt.


The instructions say that I have to put the potatoes in cold water and bring them to boil, boil them for 3 minutes, then dry them.


In my experience, it's better to cook the potatoes a little longer, about 4 minutes, then I just drain them, in a metal pasta strainer, they are hot, so they will dry out anyway. Then I put them in a bowl, added minimal amount of oil and some salt. You can also make them tastier by adding some salt to the cooking water.


The instructions say that you should cook them for 20-30 minutes on 200 degrees Celsius, and shake them in every 6 minutes.


I notice that after 6 minutes there are potatoes, which are ready to eat and nice and golden, so I always take the top layer out and let the rest of it fry.


But yes, it takes 20-30 minutes to cook 1 kg of potatoes.


Back to the time, it's still fine, I just thought it would be easier. You can actually skip the process by buying half-ready potato chips in the store.


Expectation No.2: Trying out new recipes


This is definitely happening. I've been experimenting with new recipes since then. I love it!


I've already made cauliflower wings in it and they turned out AWESOME!


Expectation No.3: Trying out new alternatives and methods


Yes. Sometimes I wish I could have more time for cooking besides everything else.


Expectation No.4: Making delicious food


It gets a yes from me, my brother, and my dog. My doggie is actually obsessed with regular and sweet potato fries, as well as the cauliflower wings.



Expectation No.5: Enjoying the crispiness without using too much oil


You can get nice and crispy food by using the air-fryer. It's also amazing that you don't have to soak the food in oil to get there.


Overall, I think I've made a good purchase. I love that it's simple to use and making fries from scratch is not terribly long.


If you are a fan of healthy cooking, I would definitely recommend you getting an air-fryer.


Review video is coming in the future.


Have you tried or would you like to try anything like this?

Leave a comment I'd like to hear from you!


Have a blessed day! <3

Comments


Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page