top of page

Blog

Wanting to lose weight? Here are the cardio mistakes you should never make...

4 cardio mistakes that will ruin your weight loss efforts


If you run or attend spinning classes a few times a week and still can't shed all the fat you want, this is for you. I was running 6-9 km a day, exercising 8 times a week, and still couldn't see the results I was longing for. I was constantly struggling with weight loss and was horrified to exercise less because I knew I would instantly gain weight. Maybe you are struggling with something similar. If you do, I get you.



The good thing is that you are here and you can learn from my mistakes. Over the years, I fundamentally changed my exercise routine several times. Learned all the lessons. Cardio is an amazing tool for weight loss but you have to use it smartly. As always, you rather have to work smart than hard...and hey, who doesn't like getting maximum results with less effort? I do.



So here are the cardio mistakes you should never make when you want to shed fat:


1. Doing nothing but cardio when you want to lose weight - some time ago, when you were determined to lose weight, cardio was the go-to exercise. Women went to spinning classes, ran marathons, and those who didn’t consider themselves cardio bunnies were damned for everlasting unwanted extra pounds. Women were scared of weights because they would make them bulky.

The truth is - doing cardio can be great for weight loss but only when it’s combined with other types of exercise. Cardio combined with strength training is a much better and more effective way to shed fat.


2. Too much cardio - the cortisol trap - have you met some women or men, who spent hours at spinning classes 4 times a week or ran marathons (or both) and they still looked strangely unfit? Doing too much cardio (more than 1 hour) on a regular basis will increase your cortisol levels. Cortisol is basically the biggest enemy of weight loss and muscle building. It is also called the “stress hormone” and it supports fat storage as well as breaks down muscle tissue. If you want to reach your optimal fitness, you have to manage your cortisol levels.

My experience: I am a person, who loves to exercise at least 6 times a week. Running used to be one of my go-to exercises 2-3 times a week. About 2 years ago, I started realising that running only made me feel sluggish throughout the day and it also decreased my sleep quality (another effect of excess cortisol), since I’ve changed my exercise routine and don’t run regularly, I feel much better. I replaced running with biking, which is much more joint-friendly and it is a great form of cardio, too.


3. Doing high-intensity cardio all the time - HIIT (high-intensity interval training) is a great form of exercise to improve the effectiveness of your cardio workouts. High-intensity exercise a few times a week can be a wonderful tool to lose weight and build strength. On the other hand, doing high-intensity workouts on a regular basis can also increase your cortisol levels. If you mix up high-intensity days and add lower-intensity “recovery” days is a much more effective way to optimise your training schedule.


4. Not doing cardio at all - however, you have to be smart about cardio, it is still a vital part of a healthy lifestyle and fitness. The purpose is to do it mindfully, focus on variety, as well as listen to your body. If you plan to push yourself over the limit, it’s better to incorporate herbs (for example, adaptogens) and other supplements that will support your overly-active lifestyle.


If you want to lose weight without dieting or spending 2 hours on spinning classes every day, make sure to to sign up for a free 30-minute session with me because I want to teach you 5 powerful techniques that will revolutionise your weight loss. Click the link below.



Comments


Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page