top of page

Blog

Why you should follow your intuition without listening to anyone else

Why you should follow your intuition without listening to anyone else






You've probably heard people saying "Follow your heart but take your mind with you?". It's true. But when it comes to listening to my intuition, I can't listen to my rational mind. I can say that along the years, it's got more and more accurate. Listening to your gut is something many successful people swear by.


We are living in a society when everybody knows better what the other person should do. We are surrounded by traditions, social norms, and society standards how our lives should look like. Unfortunately, your intuition doesn't know these yet, it leads you to bigger satisfaction and happiness.


I started my life as a curious girl. Sometimes too curious. I was extremely outgoing when I was a toddler. I remember at the age of 5, my Dad had a Santa show in the confines of his organization in a theater. Santa asked me who wanted to go out and sing. I was so enthusiastic that I went out and didn't care about hundreds of people. No stage fright, nothing. Sang and was totally happy with it.


But as years went by, I got more and more shy. When I stepped into teen age, I was scared to talk to people. Very scared. In front of guys, I was afraid to say anything. I remember, when I was preparing for the preliminary exam at my high school. University teachers came to train us because it was a special Math school for talented kids. I sat next to a girl mutliple times, we smiled at each other but almost never talked.


It was stupidly embarrassing. Because deep inside I knew it wasn't me. I struggled a lot with communication until the last few years when I decided to learn about it and change my life. I knew I was weak and lame, so I took the effort and challenged myself.


Actually, that was one of the reasons I was happy to work in a small restaurant. I wanted to get better at small talk.


I lived most of my life to please others. I was a good student and my parents were happy if I was good, so it was a no-brainer to follow what they wanted most of the times. Then when I was 28, I realized that I had no will for my life. I always did what my parents wanted me to do.


Recently, I've become a master at freaking them out from time to time, but when they see I'm happy, they always reconcile. For example, my Mom told me they wouldn't help me to go to London last June. One of her comments were "You are surely not thinking about my grandchildren..." and I still can't stop laughing if I remember this.


I moved to London and they actually helped me, after a few months, my Mom was so happy with where I was that she wanted to send my brothers after me. In October, one of them actually moved to London.


I would like to highlight a story about my puppy Dolly. I felt like I needed a doggie to improve my mental health. The happier I am, the harder I work. My love language is physical touch and I don't want to get a boyfriend just because of that...and I loved frenchies. I didn't want to make Alby jealous so I wanted a girl. Then I had no clue what color I wanted until I saw a blue frenchie on the street in June in London. Little did I know that they are very expensive and kinda rare.


So, I was living at my friend's apartment for a little more than a month. Then I felt like I needed a change. I started looking for pet-friendly apartments, which were closer to my workplace. I thought it would take some time. It only took a few days. Then I was like "Wow, it seems like God may really bless me with this dog issue". I started looking for puppies in Serbia and Hungary. I was looking at ads for days. It was tempting to lower my criteria, I wanted a blue girl in an affordable price. I talked to a few breeders but some of them sounded terrible and I didn't want to get anything from them.


Then I saw an ad about 4 black frenchies and there was a blue one. I called the guy, he was super sweet. I asked him about the blue one. He told me: Originally we didn't want to sell her because some hair was missing in certain spots but as the hair is growing back, you can get it on a 50% discount. She was in Hungary and I was in LOVE.


Then I tried to tell my Mom about my plans. She was very angry. She told me that I was crazy (she also hated bulldogs and I wanted a french bulldog), and they wouldn't help me in anything, I was on my own. I sent her a few pictures of Dolly. After a day, my Mom responded "The most beautiful bat I've ever seen", then I know she was already starting to reconcile with the fact.


Another obstacle was that she was in Hungary. The guy told me that they wanted to go on a holiday with his wife in the middle of August, it was already the end of July and I needed 3 weeks for the passport. After the rabies shot, it takes 21 days until the passport becomes active. Everything seemed impossible.


Then everything has changed. The owners decided to keep other pups they didn't go on holiday, my parents went to pick up Dolly in Hungary, they talked an hour with the breeders because they were so kind. My parents were melting. My Dad, who is not a dog person, took her for a walk. My Mom, who hated bulldogs said that she was beautiful and the cutest puppy.


Another obstacle was to take her to London. It needed some paperwork. First, I needed a ride to London. I couldn't find any, so on my first holiday, I had to go back without her. My uncle told me about a webpage, where I could find quite a few drivers for a fair price and I could start to prepare the next step. Health examination and the anitparasite pill in the right time. I came home in December and my Mom found me a vet in Szeged. They told me if the puppy was in Serbia, she needed the titer test, which takes 3 weeks, and I should look for what all the countries we had to pass through required.


I felt devastated because I only came home for less than 2 weeks but a voice inside of me told me not to give up just yet.


I was very afraid to know the fact about the titer but in the end, I decided to ask the vet in the next street. I thought at least we would be prepared for the next time. So, I went and it turned out as I had EU papers, the vet in Szeged had no idea about anything and Dolly was good to go. I asked the driver to help me find a better vet, who actually knows something. Thanks to God, everything went well and Dolly became a London doggo.



The situation with my Mom: nowadays we send each other cute frenchie videos. She couldn't wait for us to come home from London because she missed Dolly so much.


So the matter of the story is: If you are driven, never listen to anyone else. Sometimes your family and relatives can be the ones, who try to separate you from the future that was meant for you. I don't say not to love them. Just if you know deep inside that you need or want something, go for it. Your family will reconcile. Also, you can only lift other people up if you are strong and happy. You can't love your family if you live an unhappy life in general.


I hope my story was helpful!


Have a blessed day! <3



Comments


Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page