top of page

Blog

Natural ways to relieve pain - herbs and methods

Natural ways to relieve pain - herbs and methods


Before you start reading this post, make sure to check out the previous one on this topic, which contains important information about painkillers, diet, and other things. Click here to read it.


I can call myself blessed that I don't have to deal with chronic pain daily. I know that, partially, I can thank this to my healthy lifestyle.


In the past decade, I only had a few headaches, toothache once, and colds. Headaches, especially migraines are a nightmare. If they get worse, I can get nauseous and can't rest. Thankfully, migraines only come, if they do, during my period. Over the years, I've experimented with a few techniques to get rid of them ASAP.


Another issue than many women are dealing with are menstrual cramps. These are due to unhealthy diets, lack of magnesium, chronic inflammation, or hormonal imbalances. Painful periods, I mean a mild pain is okay, are not healthy.


I remember, in 2018, when I was struggling with acne for 4 years already, my periods got crazy painful. It was 100% due to hormonal imbalances because as those were solved, I usually hardly notice anything.


Headaches:


There are 4 types of headaches. Sinus, tension, cluster, and migraine. Migraines are the evilest of all for sure.


Actually, I've just found a great picture about this:




Herbs for pain relief:


1. Turmeric


Turmeric is not only a strong antioxidant but it's also a mild painkiller. When I have menstrual cramps, mild headaches, this is my go-to herb. I just make myself a nice cup of turmeric latte, find the recipe here, and I drink it on those days. When I have a stronger headache, I usually drink 2 per day.


2. Willow bark


This is where aspirin came from. Willow bark contains sailicin, similar to acetylsalicylic acid, which is the active ingredient of aspirin. You can make willow bark tea or buy it in capsules. The side effects are similar to aspirin, it can upset your stomach, thins the blood (which can be good in low amounts).


Make sure not to mix it with artificial painkillers like ibuprofen, aspirin, and naproxen. Also be cautious if you are under anticoagulant treatment.


3. Cloves


Cloves contain high amounts of antioxidants, and it can be used for toothaches, headaches, and arthritic inflammation. They are particularly great for oral hygiene because they also have antiviral and antibacterial properties, while giving you fresh breath.


4. Ginger


Ginger is great for easing muscle sore and increasing recovery. It's also good against colds.


5. Feverfew


This herb fights migraines, headaches, rheumatoid arthritis, stomach aces, it can also treat fevers. Just like willow bark, this herb can also upset the stomach, and thin the blood.


6. Essential oils


Lavender, peppermint, and eucalyptus are all great alternatives.


7. Ginseng


Ginseng can be used against fibromyalgia. You can get it as a tea or supplement. 200-500 mg is the daily recommended dosage.


8. Hydrotherapy


Using water in different temperatures can be very effective in terms of pain relief. Hot and cold therapies are the most popular, which are most commonly used to increase blood circulation and therefore, accelerate recovery. Hydrotherapy is mostly used for joint pain but a hot foot bath can work miracles when you suffer in migraines.


9. Massage


Pain can also come from muscle cramps and inflamed nerves. Nerve massage can be particularly great for this purpose, however, it's a bit painful but a few sessions can provide long-term benefits.





Comments


Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page